Countdown to the #KDFMarathon!

Stephanie-Boyd-copy-300x300 (1)

I can’t believe I am in the final weeks of training for the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon!  The event holds a special place in my heart for several reasons, including that the mini was my very first half marathon. This year will be my second year running the full marathon. After running the race last year, I decided to apply to become a 2017 KDF Marathon Ambassador on a whim.  I never thought that I would be selected as an ambassador.  I wasn’t an “elite” athlete, I had only run a marathon once, and well, I just didn’t think I would fit the mold.  But my running friends encouraged me to submit an application and fast forward almost a year later–here I am preparing to run the marathon as an ambassador!

My role as an ambassador is to assist in getting this race opportunity out in front of as many people as possible and encourage them to register.  But, the best part is meeting so many great people and supporting them during their training leading up to race day! I answer questions about training runs, race day prep and of course, the race itself.  I am always proud to say I am from this area and that I’ve run the mini/full several times when I talk to people about the experience.  Also exciting is that I get to participate in training runs with fellow ambassadors and people who have registered for the race and chosen me as an ambassador.  I have met so many amazing runners, triathletes, and women who want to run this race {again}!

I will certainly be sad when this race is over because my tenure as an ambassador will end. But, the friends I have made and the knowledge I have gained will stay with me for much longer.  I highly recommend if you are running the race this year to reach out to any of the ambassadors with questions-if we don’t have the answer, we will find it for you!

Here are just some of the reasons why this race is unique (and why you should run with us):

  • The cap for this race is 18,000 runners.  This makes for an exciting atmosphere on race day with plenty of crowd participation when there is fair weather.
  • It is a Boston Qualifier race! The course is fairly flat and fast (details here).
  • The course takes you through historic old Louisville, University of Louisville and Sullivan University campuses, as well as our beautiful park systems.  I promise, you will see some sights on this course!
  • You get to run through the infield of Churchill Downs-not many racers can say that about their race experiences!
14333576_10210208809315226_2207023472259844916_n
2017 KDF Marathon Ambassadors

If you want information about the #KDFMarathon, please click here.

You can register for the full marathon, minimarathon, or relay here.   (Don’t forget to choose me, Stephanie Boyd, as your ambassador during sign up!)

Registration prices will increase again on 4/1/17, so don’t delay! From time to time, I do have registration discount codes available to use; follow me on Instagram to see those discounts as they occur! 

Happy Training! I hope to see you at the KDF Start Line on April 29th.

For the love of running,

BluegrassBAMR

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

